Schools to make principal changes

By: By Nolan Gilmour -

LAURINBURG — The Scotland County Board of Education approved 15 principal and administrative changes following a closed session on Monday.

Among the changes are 10 principal appointments at eight schools. Laura Bailey will take over as principal at South Scotland Elementary, Kristin

Laura Bailey will take over as principal at South Scotland Elementary; Kristin Broadbelt was named the new principal of Sycamore Lane Elementary; Mary Hemphill will take the reins at Carver Middle School as principal; Pam Lewis was appointed principal of Spring Hill Middle School, LaTonya McLean will become the principal of I. Ellis Johnson Elementary; and Brett Smith is the new principal of The Shaw Academy.

Kachina Quick-Singletary was named interim principal of North Laurinburg Elementary and Amy Sloop was appointed interim principal of Covington Street Elementary. Michael Chapman will be the new assistant principal of Scotland High School, and Patrick Williams will be the new assistant principal at The Shaw Academy.

Michael Chapman is the new assistant principal of Scotland High School; and Patrick Williams is the new assistant principal at The Shaw Academy.

Other appointments include Rodney Byers as the maintenance/transportation coordinator, Chuck Dulin as Exceptional Children Coordinator, David Johnson will be the new Athletic Director at SHS and remain an assistant principal as well, Kevin Combs was appointed as an Instructional Technology specialist at SHS, and Angeline Cotton was named interim exceptional children director

“These changes were made not only to ensure that administrators are in positions where they can be the most successful, but where their success will lead to student success and achievement,” said Meredith Bounds, Scotland County schools public information officer.

Bounds added that the changes were made in anticipation of the continued restructuring of the schools.

The new appointments will take effect on July 1

In other business, Scotland County Schools superintendent Ron Hargrave said the school administrators forfeiting state bonuses to allow for certified and non-certified staff to receive larger bonuses of up to $600.

“It is not something that they had to do, they were not forced to do it, but they did chose to do it because they wanted to look out for the welfare of our non-certified and certified staff to insure that they could get as much money as they can,” Hargrave said.

The bonuses will be distributed today, according to the superintendent.

“It is one thing for our administrators to do that and I really appreciate that. It says a lot about the type of people that we have and I just wanted to give them kudos again.”

By Nolan Gilmour

Reach Nolan Gilmour at 910-506-3171

Reach Nolan Gilmour at 910-506-3171