Rush scholarships goes to 8 students

By: By Nolan Gilmour -

LAURINBURG — Eight Scotland County students received scholarships during the sixth annual Brian Rush Educational Scholarship Fund “Meet and Greet” held recently at Franklin A.M. E. Zion Church.

The 2017 scholarship recipients are Tyleak Campbell, Keshawn Mason, Alston Smith, Omega Roberson, Jadelyn Ray, Trejah Bostick, DeAundra McCallum, and Markel White. The students met with Elwood and Bobbie Rush, founders and the parents of the late Brian Rush, who the scholarship is named after.

The awarded students plan to study across North Carolina, at schools such as Johnson and Wales University in Charlotte, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, North Carolina A&T University in Greensboro, and many others.

Aspiration of the young adults range from the culinary arts to the medical field, and even performance arts.

Each year the parents hold the event to meet with the recipients of the scholarship and fellowship with them and their families.

The scholarship is in memory of Brian Rush, who graduated from Scotland High School in 2001 and attended North Carolina A&T University in Greensboro. He died July 3, 2010 at age 27 from a battle with cancer.

Each recipient receives a $500, and must be a graduating senior of Scotland High School or Scotland Early College High School, who is enrolled in a four year college or university for the 2017 Fall semester.

The foundation as now awarded more than 50 students with funds to help in obtaining a college degree.

Funds are raised throughout the year by having car washes, bake and plate sales. The biggest fundraiser is the annual sweetheart banquet. Donations are also accepted.

By Nolan Gilmour

Reach Nolan Gilmour at 910-506-3171

Reach Nolan Gilmour at 910-506-3171