NCAE endorses Pierce for N.C. House District 48 seat


RALEIGH – The North Carolina Association of Educators is endorsing Garland Pierce for the District 48 House seat in the N.C. General Assembly. Pierce currently represents residents in Scotland, Richmond, Robeson and Hoke counties.

Pierce, a Wagram resident, has served seven terms in the General Assembly. Currently the Democratic Whip, he is vice chair of the Homeland Security, Military, and Veterans Affairs Committee. He also sits on the following committees: Appropriations; Appropriations, General Government; Banking; Commerce and Job Development; Homelessness, Foster Care, and Dependency; House Select Committee on Disaster Relief; House Select Committee on Redistricting; House Select Committee on School Safety; and Insurance.

A long-time advocate for public education and public schools, Pierce is a member for No Child Left Behind/Closing the Achievement Gap with the N.C. NAACP. He is a strong supporter of the community, volunteering often with Hospice of Scotland County and the Scotland County HIV/AIDS Coalition.

He has served in the ministry for 30 years and is the pastor of Bright Hopewell Baptist Church in Laurinburg.

“Representative Garland Pierce works tirelessly for his constituents,” said Diane Mitchell, president of the Hoke County Association of Educators. “He is dedicated and committed to serving and improving conditions for the citizens of North Carolina.”

NCAE’s focus is to support candidates who can help fully restore education funding to North Carolina’s public schools and move the state forward. The Association’s 2018 Legislative Agenda puts priorities on retaining and recruiting quality educators, increasing per-pupil expenditures (39th in the nation), and funding for textbooks, restoring teacher assistant positions, eliminating additional funding for private school vouchers, and providing professional compensation for all educators (37th in the nation).

NCAE is the state’s largest education advocacy organization for public school employees, and represents active, retired, and student members.