Institute honors ‘Wall of Fame’ inductees

LAURINBURG — The Laurinburg Institute held its second annual “Unveiling Weekend” last month, honoring the Institute’s “Hall of Fame” and “Wall of Recognition” inductees.

Inducted this year were:

— Jauhar Abraham, of the class of 2009(Honorary), the CEO of Peaceaholics in Washington, D.C.

— Annette Anderson, of the class of 2015, founder and president of Diversified In-Valuable Assistance (DIVA) Enterprises in Washington, D.C.

— Gregory Davis, of the class of 1968, special assistant to the Administrator of the Boston Housing Authority in Boston

— Gertrude Ingram, of the class of 1938, retired special housing engineer of the Japanese Embassy in Arlington, Virginia

— Eddie Ray, of the class of 1944, vice chairman and operations director of the North Carolina Music Hall of Fame in Kannapolis

— James Webster, of the class of 2015, NCAA football coach in Winston-Salem.

At the May 15 event, held at Bright Hopewell Missionary Baptist Church, Mabel Phifer and DeRay Cole made a presentation on distance-learning and fundraising.

On May 16 at noon, the National Alumni of Laurinburg Institute held its monthly conference call, and several alumni attended a cookout at the home of school president, Bishop McDuffie, and Cynthia McDuffie.

Unveiling weekend activities concluded on May 17 with church services at Bright Hopewell Missionary Baptist Church.

Proceeds from the weekend’s events benefited the Laurinburg Institute Scholarship Fund.