East-West All-Star game rosters released

By Amber Hatten - ahatten@civitasmedia.com



LAURINBURG — The rosters for the 69th annual East-West All-Star football game have been released and the Fighting Scots football team will be sending two players — seniors Karfa Kaba and Amir McNeill.

The seniors learned last month they would be representing Scotland County in the game and the full rosters were released last week.

Kaba and McNeill were key contributors to the Scots defense this past season and will continue their football careers together in the fall at North Carolina A&T University.

An all-SEC selection Kaba, a defensive linemen, had 49 solo tackles, nine sacks, two fumble recoveries and caused a fumble to help the Scots defense hold opponents to less than 20 points per game.

McNeill also received All-SEC honors in the secondary leading the team with three interceptions. McNeill finished the year with 44 solo tackles, one quarterback sack and a fumble recovery.

They will be joined on the sidelines by Scotland head coach Richard Bailey, who was selected to coach the East team. Bailey will be assisted by Wake Forest’s Reggie Lucas, West Johnston’s Samuel Hales, East Carteret’s Caleb King, East Duplin’s Jack Holley and Rocky Mount’s Jason Battle.

Lumberton’s Tyriek McCallum was the other player from the Southeastern conference selected to play in the game.

The 69th annual East-West All-Star football game will be held in Greensboro at Robert D. Jamison Stadium on Wednesday, July 19 at 8 p.m. There will be a fireworks show at halftime.

East Football Team
Nick Anderson Terry Sanford Amir McNeill Scotland
Thomas Battle Rocky Mount Patrick Morrison Hoggard
Jaicari Boone Jacksonville Sam Nay Croatan
Daenard Branch Kinston Montrell Pollock Jacksonville
Aaron Cox Ayden-Grifton Artavious Richardson Rocky Mount
Andrew Eisenson Northern Durham Noel Ruiz Fike
Duncan Englehardt East Carteret Tralenn Sawyer Northeastern
Jerome Ferguson Lee County Jacob Scott Cleveland
Amir Floyd Nash Central Ryheem Skinner Clinton
Patrick Foushee, Jr. Lee County Lajarvius Thomas Holmes
Kendall Frazier Havelock Keshawn Thompson Orange
Markel Freeman Riverside Taye Vereen West Brunswick
Collin Hairr Hoggard Modica Whitehurst Ayden-Grifton
Jeffery Harris Havelock Jimmy “Buck” Williams West Johnston
Luke Hoggard Holmes Ja’Quan Witherspoon North Pitt
Will Jones Wake Forest Coach Richard Bailey Scotland
Karfa Kaba Scotland Coach Jason Battle Rocky Mount
Jo Leake West Montgomery Coach Samuel Hales West Johnston
Tyriek McCallum Lumberton Coach Battle Holley East Duplin
Anthony McCray West Brunswick Coach Caleb King East Carteret
Jonte McMullen Northside-Jacksonville Coach Reggie Lucas Wake Forest
West Football Team
Demarcus Alexander Central Cabarrus Jaron Letterlough Reidsville
Cinsere Allison A.L. Brown Chavis Little High Point Central
Darrius Archie Shelby Jessie Malit Cox Mill
James Artis Eastern Guilford Darian McClain Kings Mountain
Tremayne Booker Forestview Nick Muse South Point
James Boyle Davie County Tyshun Odom Crest
Makaius Brewer Asheville Ronald Polite Page
Deyquan Byrd West Rowan Chris Reynolds Davie County
Tyshawn Carter Rocky River Noah Sanders Burns
Randall Chrisco Asheboro Austin Sherrill Mt. Pleasant
Sirod Cook East Forsyth Cooper Short

Kings Mountain

Josh Dale Jay Robinson Juy Smith North Davidson
Tyler DeBerry Page Andrew Wall A.C. Reynolds
Devan Hairston West Stokes Brendan Westbrook Carson
Devin Harrell Hunter Huss Devan Woody Mountain Heritage
Tyrek Haywood Rocky River Coach Greg Lloyd Kings Mountain
Tyjuan Hazel East Forsyth Coach Larry Brow A.C. Reynolds
Jalen Hester Eastern Alamance Coach Greg Hill Ashbrook
Malik Jackson West Stanly Coach DeVore Holman Davie County
Aaron Jolly Shelby Coach Lonnie Jones High Point Central
Gabriel King Mt. Airy Coach Jimmy Upchurch West Stokes

Amber Hatten can be reached at 910-506-3170.



By Amber Hatten


comments powered by Disqus