Optimist Club names new president

September 26, 2013

Outgoing Laurinburg Optimist Club President Scott Sellers, right, passes the gavel to new president Scott Cole during the club’s annual installation banquet on Tuesday. Also during the banquet, Bear Hughes was recognized as Optimist of the Year and club member Steve Cole was presented with a Life Member award and the Riggins-Quick Eagle Award.

The 2013-2014 Laurinburg Optimist Club officers are President Scott Cole, President-Elect Jeff Maidment, Past President Scott Sellers, Internal Vice President Randy Johnson, External Vice President Bill Carmichael, Secretary Bear Hughes, Treasurer John Ridge, 1-year directors Wayne Sparkman, Gene Hall, and Randy McCall, and 2-year director Jerry Riggins, Steve Cole, and Jamie Sutherland.